Skip to main content

Sonja Gaedicke

Research Associate , Institut für Soziologie und Genderforschung, German Sport University Cologne

Vita

Since July 2019 Sonja works as research associate at the department for sociology and gender studies at the German Sport University in Cologne where her research focusses on sexual violence in sports. In addition, she is writing her PhD thesis in feminist urban sociology at RWTH Aachen University.

Between 2013 and 2019, Sonja worked as research associate at the research group Gender and Diversity in Engineering (GDI) at RWTH Aachen University. 

She studied Sociology, Political Science and English Literature at RWTH Aachen University and graduated with a Magister degree in 2007.

Focus of Work

feminist urban sociology, sexual violence in sports, Gender and Diversity in Academia, Gender and Diversity Studies, Gender and Diversity in Engineering Education, postcolonial theories, qualitative research methods (situational analysis, grounded theory, discourse analysis)

Research and Practice projects (selection)

Publications (selection)

Gaedicke, Sonja (im Erscheinen): Discourse and the construction of ‘otherness’ in public urban ‚spaces of fear’ – an intersectional feminist approach. Artikel für den Tagungsband zur Konferenz „The City – Images and Imaginaries”, Madrid.

Gaedicke, Sonja (2019): Urbane Angsträume und rechte Diskurse. In: philou. Unabhängiges Studierendenmagazin der RWTH Aachen University, Nr. 7.

Steuer, Linda/ Bouffier, Anna/ Gaedicke, Sonja/ Leicht-Scholten, Carmen (2017): Diversifying Engineering Education - A Transdisciplinary Approach. In: Gray, Monica/ Thomas, Ken D. (Hrsg.) (2017): Strategies for Increasing Diversity in Engineering Majors and Careers, IGI Global, S. 201–235.

Casegroup

Social Sciences

Skip to main content

Sonja Gaedicke

Wiss. Mitarbeiterin , Institut für Soziologie und Genderforschung, Deutsche Sporthochschule Köln

Vita

Aktuell: Promotionsvorhaben im Bereich feministische Stadt- und Raumsoziologie an der RWTH Aachen University.

Seit Juli 2019 als Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Soziologie und Genderforschung der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln im Forschungsprojekt "TraiNah - Trainer*innen als zentrale Akteur*innen in der Prävention sexualisierter Gewalt: Umgang mit Nähe und Distanz im Verbundsystem Nachwuchsleistungssport" tätig.

Von 2013 bis 2019 Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet „Gender und Diversity in den Ingenieurwissenschaften“ in der Fakultät für Bauingenieurwesen der RWTH Aachen.

Von 2002 bis 2007 Magisterstudium der Soziologie, Politischen Wissenschaft und Anglistischen Literaturwissenschaft an der RWTH Aachen.

Arbeitsschwerpunkte

Feministische Stadt- und Raumsoziologie, Sexuelle Gewalt im Sport, Gender und Diversity in Wissenschaft und Hochschule, Gender und Diversity Studies, Gender und Diversity in der Ingenieur*innenausbildung, Soziologie des Fremden, Postkoloniale Theorien, Qualitative Methoden (Situationsanalyse, Grounded Theory, Diskursanalyse)

Forschungs- und Praxisprojekte (Auswahl)

Veröffentlichungen (Auswahl)

Gaedicke, Sonja (im Erscheinen): Discourse and the construction of ‘otherness’ in public urban ‚spaces of fear’ – an intersectional feminist approach. Artikel für den Tagungsband zur Konferenz „The City – Images and Imaginaries”, Madrid.

Gaedicke, Sonja (2019): Urbane Angsträume und rechte Diskurse. In: philou. Unabhängiges Studierendenmagazin der RWTH Aachen University, Nr. 7.

Steuer, Linda/ Bouffier, Anna/ Gaedicke, Sonja/ Leicht-Scholten, Carmen (2017): Diversifying Engineering Education - A Transdisciplinary Approach. In: Gray, Monica/ Thomas, Ken D. (Hrsg.) (2017): Strategies for Increasing Diversity in Engineering Majors and Careers, IGI Global, S. 201–235.

Fächergruppe

Gesellschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften