Skip to main content

Prof. Dr. Carmen Leicht-Scholten

Professor , Fakultät für Bauingenieurwesen, RWTH Aachen University

Associated Professorship

Gender and Diversity in Civil Engineering

Vita

Carmen Leicht-Scholten is professor for "Gender and Diversiy in Engineering" at the Faculty of Civil Engineering at RWTH Aachen University. Since 2012, Prof. Leicht-Scholten is Dean of Study Affairs of the Faculty of Civil Engineering of RWTH Aachen University.

Since July 2010, Prof. Leicht-Scholten was visiting professor for "Gender and Diversity Management in Engineering" at the institute of software engineering and theoretical computer science of the faculty IV at TU Berlin. 

From November 2007 to June 2010, Prof. Leicht-Scholten was head of the unit "Integration Team - Human Resources, Gender and Diversity Management" (IGaD) of RWTH Aachen. She established the IGaD after participating in the development of the Institutional Strategy of RWTH in the framework of the German Excellence Initiative in 2007. In this context she was mainly responsible for the conception of the gender and diversity strategy of RWTH Aachen.

From 2003 to 2007 Carmen Leicht-Scholten was Postdoc at the Sociological Institute of RWTH Aachen. There she conceptualised several mentoring programmes and developed the mentoring concept of RWTH Aachen as an instrument of gender-equal human resources development.

After studying Political Science, Sociology and Romance Studies in Heidelberg, Aachen and Sevilla she received her doctor's degree at the department of political science (Prof. Christine Landfried) at Hamburg University. Her dissertation dealt with the impact of the constitutional jurisdiction on politics and society with regard to equal opportunities.

Focus of Work

Gender and Science, Gender and Diversity in sicentific and technology research, Gender relations and social change, politics of Gender relations, women and Gender studies in sciences and engineering, Gender and Diversity in organisations, application-based research projects at the interface of engineering, economics and social sciences

Research and Practice projects (selection)

buildING│bridges
Neue Wissenschaftskarrieren/Karriere und Führung. Frauen in Forschungsorganisationen und Technischen Universitäten
ChanceMINT.NRW – Karriereentwicklung für Studentinnen in Hochschulen und Unternehmen

Publications (selection)

Websitelink to my Publications

Keywords

law, politics, technology, science, social change, politics, gender studies, women's studies, STEM, Gender, Diversity, engineering

Casegroup

Engineering

Skip to main content

Auswahl nach

Prof. Dr. Carmen Leicht-Scholten

Professorin, Fakultät für Bauingenieurwesen, RWTH Aachen

Assoziierte Professur

Gender und Diversity in den Ingenieurwissenschaften (GDI)

Vita

Carmen Leicht-Scholten ist Professorin für „Gender und Diversity in den Ingenieurwissenschaften“ an der Fakultät für Bauingenieurwesen an der RWTH Aachen. Seit Frühjahr 2012 ist sie Studiendekanin der Fakultät für Bauingenieurwesen.

Von Juli 2010-Oktober 2011 hatte sie eine Gastprofessur im Fachgebiet „Gender und Diversity Management in den Ingenieurwissenschaften“ inne, angesiedelt am Institut für Softwaretechnik und Theoretische Informatik an der Fakultät IV der TU Berlin.

Von November 2007- Juni 2010 war Frau Leicht-Scholten Leiterin der Stabsstelle Integration Team, Human Resources, Gender and Diversity Management (IGaD) an der RWTH Aachen. Sie hat das IGaD aufgebaut, ausgebaut und wissenschaftlich geleitet, nachdem sie an der Entwicklung des Zukunftskonzeptes mitgearbeitet hatte und innerhalb dessen verantwortlich für die Entwicklung der Gender- und Diversity-Strategie der RWTH Aachen war.

Von 2003 bis 2007 war sie Postdoc am Institut für Soziologie der RWTH Aachen, konzipierte zahlreiche Mentoring-Programme und baute das Mentoring-Konzept der RWTH Aachen als Instrument der geschlechtergerechten Personalentwicklung auf.

Nach dem Studium der Politischen Wissenschaften, Soziologie und Romanistik in Heidelberg, Aachen und Sevilla promovierte sie an der Universität Hamburg am Lehrstuhl l für Politische Wissenschaft bei Prof. Christine Landfried über die Wirkung der Verfassungsrechtssprechung zum Thema Gleichberechtigung auf Politik und Gesellschaft.

Arbeitsschwerpunkte

Wissenschaft und Geschlecht, Gender und Diversity in Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung, Gender und Diversity in Organisationen, anwendungsbezogene Forschungsprojekte an der Schnittstelle von Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Auswahl aktueller Projekte

IGaDtools4MINT - Integration von Gender und Diversity in MINT-Studiengängen an Hochschulen
| Details | Externer Link

Talentscouting Aachen
| Externer Link

Neue Wissenschaftskarrieren/Karriere und Führung. Frauen in Forschungsorganisationen und Technischen Universitäten
| Details

buildING│bridges
| Details

Gender- und Diversity-orientierte Maßnahmenevaluation an der RWTH Aachen (DiEva)
| Details | Externer Link

ChanceMINT.NRW – Karriereentwicklung für Studentinnen in Hochschulen und Unternehmen
| Details

Veröffentlichungen (Auswahl)

Websitelink zu Veröffentlichungen

Expertise für

Recht, Politik, Technik, Wissenschaft, sozialer Wandel, Politik, Geschlechterforschung, Frauenforschung, MINT, Gender, Diversity, Ingenieurwesen

Fächergruppe

Ingenieurwissenschaften

Prof. Dr. Carmen Leicht-Scholten

Prof. Dr. Carmen Leicht-Scholten

RWTH Aachen
Fakultät für Bauingenieurwesen
LuFG Gender und Diversity in den Ingenieurwissenschaften
Kackertstr. 9
52072 Aachen

Telefon
0241 - 80 90549