Skip to main content

Our members: Scientists with a focus on gender research in universities of NRW

Three subgroups – one network

About 360 scientists working on women and gender studies are listed in the following groups:

  1. Professors (full and associated professors)
  2. Mid-level academics
  3. Institutions of gender studies in universities of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) represent the third pillar.

The heart of the network are the "network professorships", which were established by the Ministry of Science NRW between 1986 and 1999. In addition, there are „associated professorships“, which are united by their focus on gender studies in their research and instruction. The majority of these professorships belong to Human and Social Sciences, followed by Language and Cultural Sciences.

Disciplines that are currently being represented in the network are:

  • Social, Economic and Legal Sciences (Sociology, Social Work, Political Science, Ethnology, Business Administration, Labour Science, Educational Science, Law)
  • Human discipline and Cultural sciences (Philosophy, Theology, History, Art History, Cultural History, Literary Studies, Romance Languages and Literature, Japanese Studies, Media Studies, Journalism, Music Studies, Dance Studies, Theatre, Film and Television Studies, Design)
  • Human Sciences (Medicine, Psychology, Health, Rehabilitation and Sport Studies)
  • Engineering fields (Architecture, Constructional Engineering, Urban Planning, Spatial planning, Mechanical Engineering).

Disciplines currently not represented are Mathematics and Natural Sciences.